“God’s Work. Our Hands.” Service Project

"God's work. Our hands." Volunteer Opportunities

gwohSunday, September 9, 2018

As a social ministry partner of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), we are proud to work with congregations across the state for this year’s “God’s Work. Our Hands.”

Each year on this day, the ELCA encourages its member churches to serve their neighbor by completing a service project. If your congregation cannot participate on September 9th, you may consider doing one of the LSS of MN service projects on another day!

Service activities offer an opportunity for us to explore one of our most basic convictions as Lutherans: that all of life in Jesus Christ – every act of service, in every daily calling, in every corner of life – flows freely from a living, daring confidence in God’s grace.

How It Works

To get started, follow these steps:

  1. Select a project in your region. View the table below and 2018 Project details to help you decide.

  2. Let us know you will participate

  3. Your LSS project contact will receive your form, then email or call you to confirm a donation drop-off or volunteer time. Feel free to reach out to your LSS project contact as well.

  4. Download our Bulletin Insert and Worship Guides.

  5. Do the project. Be sure to record who participates on the individual volunteer participant form and record gifts on the in-kind gift form so we can recognize your gift of time or goods. Please email these two forms to your LSS project contact.

2018 Service Projects

LSS of MN service projects this year vary by location. Just gather a group of volunteers, choose a project to complete and make a difference!

Our service projects include:

  • Disability Services – landscaping/gardening, providing supplies or a friendly visit, cleaning
  • Homeless Youth – providing school supplies or household items, painting, organizing
  • Senior Nutrition – assembling shelf-stable meals in case weather prevents meal delivery
  • Therapeutic Foster Care – deliver a meal, help with an activity, create welcome bags
  • Many more!

Complete Project List

View all the 2018 LSS Projects and the Details

MN Synod Region
LSS Service Project Options
LSS Project Contact
Northeastern
Center for Changing Lives Duluth
Disability Services: Grand Rapids
Disability Services: International Falls
Senior Nutrition: Various

Northeastern MN Synod Region

Center for Changing Lives Duluth -  Angie.Skogstad@lssmn.org
Disability Services: Grand Rapids -  Marti.Kinnunen@lssmn.org
Disability Services: International Falls - Marti.Kinnunen@lssmn.org
Senior Nutrition: Various Locations - Andrea.Lingl@lssmn.org

Northwestern MN Synod Region

Disability Services: Roseau - Katie.Kline@lssmn.org
Disability Services: Fergus Falls - Heidi.Reisdorf@lssmn.org
Senior Nutrition: Various Locations - Andrea.Lingl@lssmn.org
Therapeutic Foster Care: Moorhead - Lynn.Kotrba@lssmn.org

Southeastern MN Synod Region

Crisis Nursery: Mankato - Candy.Picka@lssmn.org
Disability Services: Cannon Falls - Staci.McIntyre@lssmn.org
Disability Services: LeRoy - Ann.Lazzara@lssmn.org
Disability Services: Northfield - Amber.Iwanski@lssmn.org
Disability Services: Red Wing - Staci.McIntyre@lssmn.org
Rochester - Christina.Fort@lssmn.org
Senior Nutrition: Various Locations - Andrea.Lingl@lssmn.org
Therapeutic Foster Care: Mankato - Candy.Picka@lssmn.org
Therapeutic Foster Care: Rochester - Jodi.Raidt@lssmn.org

Southwestern MN Synod Region

Disability Services: Alexandria - Heidi.Reisdorf@lssmn.org
Senior Nutrition: Various Locations - Andrea.Lingl@lssmn.org
Therapeutic Foster Care: Alexandria/Willmar - Mary.Weaver@lssmn.org
Therapeutic Foster Care: St. Cloud - Maria.Mills@lssmn.org

St. Paul & Minneapolis Synod Region

Disability Services: Brooklyn Center - Mandy.Bohatta@lssmn.org
Disability Services: Coon Rapids - Michelle.Roth@lssmn.org
Metro Homeless Youth: LifeHaven - Katie.Nichol@lssmn.org
Metro Homeless Youth: Rezek House - Tameka.Miller@lssmn.org
Metro Homeless Youth: Safe House - Kelly.Wolf@lssmn.org
Senior Nutrition: Various Locations - Andrea.Lingl@lssmn.org
Therapeutic Foster Care: Metro - Jodi.Raidt@lssmn.org
Youth and Family Services: Metro - Heather.Kamia@lssmn.org

 

Thrivent Action Teams

If you are a Thrivent member, consider applying for a Thrivent Action Team grant to help support your group’s service project. Recipients receive $250 in seed funds to make their service project happen.

Thank you for being a part of God’s work, partnering with LSS and serving your neighbor in the spirit of Christ’s love!  If you have any questions, please contact Maria Hurni, Deacon and LSS Volunteer Services Capacity Builder, at Maria.Hurni@lssmn.orgor 651.287.2563.