Family Deductible is a cost-sharing program the Minnesota State Legislature
passed into law at the end of 2011. As noted in the Minnesota Statute
256B.0631, MA enrollees over the age of 21 are to begin cost-sharing with
providers by paying a monthly family deductible or co-payment for each period
of eligibility, effective January 1, 2012.
deductible is an out-of-pocket cost you are now responsible to pay each month,
in order to keep your services open and active.
You cannot use waiver or budget dollars to cover the cost. Whichever of your service providers bills DHS
first for services in any given month will be assessed the fee and they in turn
will pass the bill onto you. For
example, PICS bills $100 for an April service.
We are the first provider to bill in April, so the state will pay
$100-$2.75=$97.25 and it becomes our responsibility to collect the additional
amount owed from you directly. You can learn more by viewing the Family Deductible – FAQ or contact us directly.