Donate now >

Support LSS

"God's work. Our hands." Volunteer Opportunities

Sunday, September 9, 2018

 

GWOH 659x320

 

As a social ministry partner of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), we are proud to work with congregations across the state for this year’s “God’s Work. Our Hands.”

Each year on this day, the ELCA encourages its member churches to serve their neighbor by completing a service project. If your congregation cannot participate on September 9th, you may consider doing one of the LSS of MN service projects on another day!

Service activities offer an opportunity for us to explore one of our most basic convictions as Lutherans: that all of life in Jesus Christ – every act of service, in every daily calling, in every corner of life – flows freely from a living, daring confidence in God’s grace.

 

How It Works

To get started, follow these steps:

  1. Select a project in your region. View the table below and 2018 Project details to help you decide.

  2. Let us know you will participate
     
  3. Your LSS project contact will receive your form, then email or call you to confirm a donation drop-off or volunteer time. Feel free to reach out to your LSS project contact as well. 

  4. Download our Bulletin Insert and Worship Guides

  5.  Do the project and capture who participates on the individual volunteer participant form, and the in-kind gift form so we can recognize your gift of time or goods. Please email these two forms to your LSS project contact.

2018 Service Projects

LSS of MN service projects this year vary by location. Just gather a group of volunteers, choose a project to complete, and make a difference!

Our service projects include:

  • Disability Services – landscaping/gardening, providing supplies or a friendly visit, cleaning
  • Homeless Youth – providing school supplies or household items, painting, organizing
  • Senior Nutrition – assembling shelf-stable meals in case weather prevents meal delivery
  • Therapeutic Foster Care – deliver a meal, help with an activity, create welcome bags
  • Many more!

Complete Project List

View all the 2018 LSS Projects and the Details

 

MN Synod Region LSS Service Project Options LSS Project Contact
Northeastern

Center for Changing Lives Duluth

Disability Services: Grand Rapids

Disability Services: International Falls

Senior Nutrition: Various

Angie.Skogstad@lssmn.org

Marti.Kinnunen@lssmn.org

Marti.Kinnunen@lssmn.org

Andrea.Lingl@lssmn.org

Northwestern

Disability Services: Roseau

 Disability Services: Fergus Falls

Senior Nutrition: Various

Therapeutic Foster Care: Moorhead

Katie.Kline@lssmn.org

Heidi.Reisdorf@lssmn.org

Andrea.Lingl@lssmn.org

Lynn.Kotrba@lssmn.org

Southeastern

Crisis Nursery: Mankato

Disability Services: Cannon Falls

Disability Services: LeRoy

Disability Services: Northfield

Disability Services: Red Wing

LINK: Rochester

Senior Nutrition: Various

Therapeutic Foster Care: Mankato

Therapeutic Foster Care: Rochester

Candy.Picka@lssmn.org

Staci.McIntyre@lssmn.org

Ann.Lazzara@lssmn.org

Amber.Iwanski@lssmn.org

Staci.McIntyre@lssmn.org

Christina.Fort@lssmn.org

Andrea.Lingl@lssmn.org

Candy.Picka@lssmn.org

Jodi.Raidt@lssmn.org

Southwestern

Disability Services: Alexandria

Senior Nutrition: Various

Therapeutic Foster Care: Alexandria/Willmar

Therapeutic Foster Care: St. Cloud

Heidi.Reisdorf@lssmn.org

Andrea.Lingl@lssmn.org

Mary.Weaver@lssmn.org

Maria.Mills@lssmn.org

St. Paul & Minneapolis

Disability Services: Brooklyn Center

Disability Services: Coon Rapids

Metro Homeless Youth: LifeHaven

Metro Homeless Youth: Rezek House

Metro Homeless Youth: Safe House

Senior Nutrition: Various

Therapeutic Foster Care: Metro

Youth and Family Services: Metro

Mandy.Bohatta@lssmn.org

Michelle.Roth@lssmn.org

Katie.Nichol@lssmn.org

Tameka.Miller@lssmn.org

Kelly.Wolf@lssmn.org

Andrea.Lingl@lssmn.org

Jodi.Raidt@lssmn.org

Heather.Kamia@lssmn.org 

 

Thrivent Action Teams

To help support your group’s service project, consider applying for a Thrivent Action Team grant. Recipients receive $250 in seed funds to make their service project happen.

 

Thank you for being a part of God’s work, partnering with LSS, and serving your neighbor in the spirit of Christ’s love!  If you have any questions, please contact Maria Hurni, Deacon and LSS Volunteer Services Capacity Builder, at Maria.Hurni@lssmn.orgor 651.287.2563.